Teri Langton

Describe your experience with the Equinox.  Have you participated in the full marathon, the relay, and/or the ultra?  How many times?

This is my first relay (first leg) I’ve ever done, and the first time I’ve participated in the Equinox. My best time in my practice runs was two hours 12 minutes. and I was hoping to do it under two hours   I did it in 1:58!!

When do you start training for this race?  How much of the course itself do you incorporate into your training?  How often do you incorporate the Dome into your training?

I trained during the summer. I had six weeks where I couldn’t train due to a little injury, but after that I trained pretty hard.  I did Ester Dome two or three times and decided that I didn’t want to do that leg.  I did the chute, and decided that I didn’t want to do that leg either.  I wanted to the first leg, and it was a good fit for all of us team members.

What are your key workouts in preparation for this race?

I did a lot of running.  Even though I didn’t do the 2nd leg, I think running the Dome helped me a lot.  I also worked out in the Rec Center.

What’s your favorite thing about this race?

It’s such a community event.  People don’t care if it takes you four hours to do one leg.  They’re just so encouraging, and there are so many inspiring people out there who say, “good job” while you’re dying!

What’s your favorite part of the course? Your least favorite part?

I think the chute is really hard, but it’s all hard.  Even with the first part, there are so many roots that you really have to concentrate.  And then of course, the Dome is hard.   Running in the woods is my favorite part.

Describe the best moment you’ve experienced during this race. Describe the worst.

When I got to mile 5 and knew that I could make my goal… That was awesome!  No bad moments today!

Do you consider yourself a competitive runner? What are your running goals/fitness goals?

I’m not a competitive runner.  I’m slow.  I used to be able to do a 9:45 minute/mile.  I haven’t been able to do that for a year and a half, but I would like to get back to doing a 9:30 minute/mile. I’d like to lose another 10 pounds, and I think that would help me to reach my running goals.

What’s the best advice or training tips you can share with others who are new to this race?

Get out and try it!  The training runs were wonderful.  The people are wonderful, and no one cares how fast you do it.

Have you made any big training errors, or race day flubs that adversely affected your enjoyment or time in this race?

Doing more hills would have helped.

Any plans on participating in the Equinox this year? This race has been described as one of the most grueling marathons in the country!  What keeps you motivated to participate in this event?

I think so!  I don’t know if I’ll do the whole thing, but I was thinking of maybe trying two legs.

Meeting my goal has really motivated me!

You might also like:

Dana Novak

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

