Trent Hubbard

Describe your experience with the Equinox.  Have you participated in the full marathon, the relay, and/or the ultra?  How many times?

This is going to be my fourth year running the Equinox.  I’ve run it the last three years.  

When do you start training for this race?  How much of the course itself do you incorporate into your training?  How often do you incorporate the Dome into your training?

The first couple of times I ran it, I didn’t hardly train at all.  Being in the field as a geologist during the summer, I don’t get a chance to train much, so this year is the first year that I’m actually going to train hard-core for it.  Usually, if I can run 10-15 miles that’s good, but this year, I’m aiming for a couple over 20-mile runs.  I’m really aiming to improve my time this year.

I haven’t been on the Dome very much before – two or three times a year, maybe.  This year, I’ll probably be up there four or five times.

What are your key workouts in preparation for this race?

I aim for about four hours with my dog on a variety of terrains from hills once a week to flats.  It’s mostly a motivation to run my dog.

What’s your favorite thing about this race?

Just being able to do it!  Just being able to say, here I am getting older, and I’m still in shape, and able to do this.  And I’m not sitting in front of the TV.  It’s just a lot of fun to be a part of this community event.

What’s your favorite part of the course? Your least favorite part?

My favorite part is from the Musk Ox Farm to the base of Ester Dome.  My least favorite part is probably the out and back.

Describe the best moment you’ve experienced during this race. Describe the worst.

The best moment was the first year that I ran it, and crossing the finish line!  That was just fantastic.  The worst was probably last year, when my leg started hurting at the bottom of Alder trail and knowing that it was going to impact my ability to improve my time.  

Do you consider yourself a competitive runner? What are your running goals/fitness goals?

No.  Mostly, I’d just like to get to where I can be middle to upper-half of the pack someplace.  In terms of fitness goals, I just want to stay healthy and stay active.  It’s more of me staying active enough to run with my dogs.

What’s the best advice or training tips you can share with others who are new to this race?

Get out and run the course, and uphills.

Have you made any big training errors, or race day flubs that adversely affected your enjoyment or time in this race?

Last year, I carried a Camelbak, and I hadn’t been training with one and I thought that was a negative impact because it changed my whole way of drinking water.

Any plans on participating in the Equinox this year? This race has been described as one of the most grueling marathons in the country!  What keeps you motivated to participate in this event?

I do plan on participating this year.  I’ve done it a couple times, and I just want to get better and better!

You might also like:

Bruce Sackinger

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

