Bad Bob Baker

Describe your experience with the Equinox.  Have you participated in the full marathon, the relay, and/or the ultra?  How many times?

I’ve ran the marathon over 35 times, starting in 1974 in high school and hiked/walked it for my first two years.  I have one DNF because I just felt terrible and was too sick to finish.  My best time in the Equinox is around 3:17.

When do you start training for this race?  How much of the course itself do you incorporate into your training?  How often do you incorporate the Dome into your training?

I never stop.  I use my training for skiing and don’t train on hardly any of the course.  I’ve never been in good running shape for the Equinox as I’ve never specifically train for it.   I’ve never ran my good Equinox.

What are your key workouts in preparation for this race?

Pure distance – three to four 15-20 milers, though I never stop at 19 miles.  If I’ve ran that far, might as well go for the 20 miler.

What’s your favorite thing about this race?

The weather.  It starts out below freezing then warms up.

What’s your favorite part of the course? Your least favorite part?

The Out and Back is my favorite – I get to see where I’m at compared to others; get to see the 1st place person.  This is where I find out what kind of race I’m having.  Least favorite – none.

Describe the best moment you’ve experienced during this race. Describe the worst.

Too many “best” memories!  However, several moments stand out.  One year, Corky Hebard, Tom Wickwire and I ended up all together and finished together.  Can’t remember why, but I know that year I bonked and got caught by them.  Another one is in 1992, the unofficial snow year.  Amazingly fun race that year.  Running the Equinox with my wife, Sharon was a wonderful year in 1998.  Every time I recover from a bonk during the Equinox is always a best!  Worst memory – probably the year I quit at the top, 1/2 way up.  Little did I know how often I would end up running the Equinox.  Also, walking the entire last 6 miles one year in severe pain.  Swore I’d never walk again.

Do you consider yourself a competitive runner? What are your running goals/fitness goals?

I’m always competitive, would love to race rather than train any day.  My goal is to be as fit as I can be for as long as I can – until death.  Hope to die during a race, preferably, a ski race.

What’s the best advice or training tips you can share with others who are new to this race?

Enjoy yourself!  Have fun.  If it’s not fun, you’re going about it wrong!

Have you made any big training errors, or race day flubs that adversely affected your enjoyment or time in this race?

Many times! But, you learn from your mistakes!  That’s the fun part!

Any plans on participating in the Equinox this year? This race has been described as one of the most grueling marathons in the country!  What keeps you motivated to participate in this event?

I plan to continue racing/running the Equinox as long as possible.  My competitive side knows that I will someday be the person who has completed the most Equinoxes.

5 responses to “Bad Bob Baker

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

