Wendy Zimmerman

Describe your experience with the Equinox.  Have you participated in the full marathon, the relay, and/or the ultra?  How many times?

I participated in the full marathon twice and the relay once.  For the full marathons, I hiked, for the relay, I ran.  

When do you start training for this race?  How much of the course itself do you incorporate into your training?  How often do you incorporate the Dome into your training? 

I started training in about May incorporating much of the course into my training.  I trained with friends and we followed the same training as Steve Bainbridge lead, only at a walking pace.

As not super serious trainers, I don’t recall how much of the Dome we incorporated. 

What are your key workouts in preparation for this race? 


Walking everyday and slowing increasing the distance.  Our longest training walk was about 20 miles.  After that walk, about a week before the race, we stopped training.  

What’s your favorite thing about this race? 

The surrounding view coupled with time of year.  I love autumn and this race gets me outside during my favorite time of year in a beautiful place.

What’s your favorite part of the course? Your least favorite part? 

The Out and Back is my favorite.  Making it back feels like such an accomplishment.  My least favorite part is The Chute…so painful on the knees.

Describe the best moment you’ve experienced during this race. Describe the worst. 

My best and worst are the same.  The first time I did this race was the day after my grandmother, to whom I was very close, passed away.  It was hard enough just to get out of bed that morning, much less walk 26 miles.  The beauty of the day, clear, deep blue skies, the autumn colors and smells were, I guess, comforting.  Doing something I loved honored my grandmother.  

Do you consider yourself a competitive runner? What are your running goals/fitness goals? 

I absolutely do NOT consider myself a competitive runner.  My fitness goals are to not get too fat!  

What’s the best advice or training tips you can share with others who are new to this race? 

Even if you’re not a competitive runner, or if you’re a walker, don’t be shy – you’ll be completely welcome in this race.

Have you made any big training errors, or race day flubs that adversely affected your enjoyment or time in this race? 

Probably, but since I’ve never been competitive about it, I’m completely unaware.  

Any plans on participating in the Equinox this year? This race has been described as one of the most grueling marathons in the country!  What keeps you motivated to participate in this event?

I would like to participate in the relay but time to train and health issues are a concern.  When I was participating, the thing that kept me motivated was exactly the fact that it is considered one of the most grueling marathons.  One of my “bucket list” items was to complete a marathon, and I was to complete such a difficult one – that’s motivation for me.   
2 responses to “Wendy Zimmerman

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

