Natalie Forshaw

Describe your experience with the Equinox.  Have you ran the full marathon, the relay, and/or the ultra?  How many times?

 I’ve done the relay (1st leg) once.

 How do you train for this race?  When do you start training?  Do you mostly run the course and the trails during the summer?  How often do you incorporate the Dome into your runs?

The training was my favorite part.  A group of us got together and did scheduled runs.  Each week we’d add on minutes/distance.  I’ve always enjoyed hiking the route, so this was an added bonus–the chance to run parts of it with others.

What’s your favorite thing about this race?

That it happens in the fall.  We were lucky to have a sunny, warm day last year and it truly was glorious!  I also enjoy seeing other parts of Fairbanks–especially the trail system near Kittiwake.

What’s your favorite part of the course?  Your least favorite part?

I’ve always enjoyed walking/hiking the first leg, but during our practice runs, I really enjoyed the trail after the Chute.

Describe the best moment you’ve experienced during this race.  Describe the worst.

Walking up Ester Dome Road to cheer on my teammates after I’d finished my leg.

Do you consider yourself a competitive runner?  What are  your running/fitness goals?

I’m not a competitive runner, but am an avid hiker/walker.

What’s the best advice or training tips you can share with others who are new to this race?

Relax, enjoy yourself!  Familiarizing yourself before the race is a big help.  I really appreciated knowing what was coming up next.

Have you made any big training errors, or race day flubs that adversely affected your enjoyment or time in this race?

This was my first time and it seemed to have gone smoothly!

Any plans on running the race this year?  Why do you participate in this race?  What keeps you motivated?

I’m definitely considering running the race this year, but mostly I’m looking forward to walking/hiking parts of it!

 You might also like:

Wendi Lyons

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

